The Week in Review (6/29/09)

kanonji_beach4

This Week: I ran into a billion problems this week. Beyond being crushed at learning how much Softbank can rip someone off for a new 32 gig iPhone and the fact that they’re giving DoCoMo folks a sweet deal while doing nothing for their actual customers, my old iPhone just failed when I installed the 3.0 software.

I finally got 3.0 working today. My new hatred for Apple and Softbank means I’m probably going to jailbreak the fuck out of my iPhone now, especially after seeing all the cool things (wait, video was already there?) my friend’s JBed phone could do.

My computer is also apparently on its last legs…It’s been a bad tech week for me…

Stuff on my Radar you May Have Missed: In all the hustle and bustle, I didn’t dig up so much, but I’m still going to recommend that people check out ‘The Pacific” trailer and keep tabs on that show. If you liked “Band of Brothers” and were waiting for the Pacific theater version, this will definitely be your cup of tea.

My Favs from You Guys:

I dug the shit out of Andy Heather’s article on banning Katakana. I agree that it present a serious impediment on learning the English language. I’ve seen people struggle with overcoming problems with English fo years while running off and learning Spanish in months and constantly fight with students to convince them that they should be saying things like “Au-su-to-ra-i-ri-a.”

Slate’s article on Cool Biz is something you already know a lot about if you live in Japan, but it was fun seeing an outsider’s opinions on it and his theory on how it decreases work in a country that’s not producing like it used to.

The plethora of ideas in this month’s Japan Blog Matsuri were the fucking cats pyjamas. Rock on!

Others: @saltypear, for some tips involving doing fake ‘Christian-style’ weddings in Takamatsu on Weekends.

Not sure if I want to do it yet. After viewing, it looked easy, until the mock-priest told me of what a hassle it can be with last minute changes. I also work about 6 days a week already and aren’t exactly pressed for cash.

Still, being a fake priest if only for a little bit would be pretty hilarious.

My Own Stuff: My own stuff was shite this week, but thanks for looking at it anyway. I let the previous week carry my numbers this week as I was overly pressed with the impending doom of my iPhone, computer, and a hectic work schedule.

Observations:  You guys keep checking in even when I’m not writing anything. Kudos to you!

Next Week(s): Some of the pieces I mentioned last time are still in the pipeline. There will be whales eventually, I’ve got more green ammo to unload, moving the “Getting a Job Series” into the planning to arrive stages, etc, etc…

I may also roll out a few changes to the format of the blog. Some people have complained about the extremely basic style, others like that’s it so simple. Regardless, there’s probably a LITTLE more I could be doing with it. I kinda dig just getting my words out there and saying ‘fuck all’ to style too, but it always helps to have some polish.

Leave a Reply

