The Week in Review (6/21/09)

blogfun

This Week: Wow, thanks all! It was a real whirlwind of a week. I set out to crank out a post from Monday to Friday, but somehow still pulled out enough ammunition to carry me into the weekend. You guys took me above and beyond my meager expectations for the blog, and I thank you! The Japan Blogging community it pretty badass and welcoming.

Stuff on my Radar you May Have Missed:

I cast a wide net!

I nearly pissed myself and definitely cried laughing listening to Dr. Ken Jeong on the Adam Carolla podcast. It’s not Japan centric per say, but it pokes a lot of humor at Asian Stereotypes and does so in an extremely funny way. If you’re sensitive, you might be offended, so be warned.

On the other hand, I was far less impressed with this clip from Judd Apatow’s ‘Funny People’ in which Adam Sandler hangs out with a Japanese family…

My Favs from You Guys:

Gakuranman’s post on the use of ‘Nau‘ is exactly the kind of Japanese lesson I need. I have the attention span of a puppy dog and love slang. It helps me stick to just using bad Japanese slang and ‘-kure’ form stuff to scary everyone away. Really looking forward to more, although you lost me at the two point mark…I just need a word man, one word!  ;-P

Frugalista’s post on conscious spending was awesome. It took the idea of budgeting in Japan into an entirely new realm I’d never actually thought of. Here I am  hording 500 yen coins and using my razors for an extra week while cutting my face to shreds, and he’s off investing money in banks.

Mutant Frog’s post on badges was kinda cool. I just clicked on it randomly via twitter and was sucked into a world I never even noticed existed. I’ve seen the badges, but never knew they had such specific function. Hopefully I can get a badge too someday. Maybe it’ll be like the one they gave the Jews in Germany.

Others:

I also owe @LostInInaka big time for his help getting my iPhone back up and running. The 3.0 software just ate my iPhone, and he was a big help getting me back to 2.2. Still stuck without 3.0 though, I feel like I’m living in the stone age!

I also want to see @KimonoBox attack that Times article some more about the bloggers getting benefits for writing favorable reviews of tourist sites. My theory is still that it’s mostly the foodie and travel Japanese bloggers, and not us snarky, venom and bile-filled foreign bloggers living in Japan.

Thanks to JoeJones (@redjoe) on JapanSoc for teaching me to spell Visa correctly!

My Own Stuff:

The Getting a Teaching Job in Japan Series (Part 1, Part 2, Part 3): I enjoyed writing these, although I never thought they would have created such a landslide towards my blog.  They helped me take out some frustration, although now I’m worried I’ll just be getting piles and piles of well written resumes now!  Anyway, I’m going to be continuing the series, so look for the next installment this Tuesday.

My Own Favorite Post of the Week: Simple humor and silly Japan products always make me laugh the post. I really enjoyed the pictures I got from the Japanese ‘Dentie Tooth Paste’ test. I didn’t really enjoy testing it though. Although I’m actually still using it, cause I’m lazy!

Living Cheaply in Japan: This post exploded beyond my wildest dreams. I actually thought it was garbage. I was apparently extremely wrong. The best parts were your comments though, which I still consider more insightful than most of my own, which all basically revolved around saving money as an alcoholic.

Observations: Was nice to learn how to stay out of a flame war on Japan Probe. I started to get sucked in, then realized I was wasting breath and energy on something I just thought was funny. Was also interesting to trial the Times article about ‘cute ambassadors’ on some of my students to see where they fell. Japanese men thought it was an awesome idea, Japanese women were often horribly offended that the government was portraying them to the world in such a light. Interesting split. If you missed it, read my take here.

Next Week(s): Look for continuing my rant as an angry HR man trying to high quality teachers in a land of few and far between (course, each and ever one of you reading is a brilliant teacher  ;-P  ), some whales, some zombies, a large phone bill, communists, and possibly even communist whale zombies.

I may not churn out a post a day like my epic pledge drive style last week, but I’ll continue to provide yall with my own wacky personal viewpoints on this silly land of Japan.

Ok, gotta head out. Wouldn’t want to miss the last train to Awesometown

Leave a Reply

